Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops von Jen Campbell > Review

12640991

This Sunday Times Bestseller is a miscellany of hilarious and peculiar bookshop moments:
‚Can books conduct electricity?‘
‚My children are just climbing your bookshelves: that’s ok… isn’t it?‘

A John Cleese Twitter question [‚What is your pet peeve?‘], first sparked the ‚Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops‘ blog, which grew over three years into one bookseller’s collection of ridiculous conversations on the shop floor.

From ‚Did Beatrix Potter ever write a book about dinosaurs?‘ to the hunt for a paperback which could forecast the next year’s weather; and from ‚I’ve forgotten my glasses, please read me the first chapter‘ to’Excuse me… is this book edible?‘

This full-length collection illustrated by the Brothers McLeod also includes top ‚Weird Things‘ from bookshops around the world.

Dieses Buch ist einfach super (Von mir 4/5 Sternen)! Obwohl ich nicht so viel lachen konnte wie ich erhofft hatte. Ich war eher entrüstet über die dreisten Besucher oder fand diese einfach nur unglaublich dumm. Aber es gibt auch Situationen, in denen mir mein Herz schmerzte(hat etwas damit zu tun, dass ich Bücher einfach liebe..).

Am Ende zeige ich euch noch ein paar Beispiele zu selbst gewählten Kategorien (Zitate sind von Goodreads).

Ich habe es gestern früh auf dem Weg zur Schule(ich saß im Bus) fertig gelesen und möchte bald auch den zweiten Teil lesen. Ich finde dieses ist eines der Bücher, in die man immer mal wieder hineinschaut. 🙂 Wie gesagt, dachte ich eigentlich ich lache mehr, aber ich war viel entrüstet oder mir klappte wirklich die Kinnlade auf den Boden auf Grund der Dreistigkeit einiger Kunden.

Aber mit dieser kleinen „Vorwarnung“ seid ihr gut gewappnet und ich kann euch das Buch problemlos empfehlen! 🙂
Alle die gerne lesen und sich ein wenig mit Büchern auskennen, sollten es auf jeden Fall lesen. (Das gibts auch schon auf Deutsch;-)) Denn als ich meiner Mom und meiner Schwester 1 bis 2 Konversionen übersetzt habe, haben sie es oft einfach nicht verstanden. Warum? Naja es kennt nun nicht jeder Coraline von Neil Gaiman als BUCH. Nur um mal ein kleines, aber seltenes, Beispiel zu zeigen. 🙂

Jetzt zu den Zitaten! Ich habe mir ein paar schöne herausgesucht und diese mal ein wenig eingeteilt. 🙂

Unwissend

Naja dieser Besucher lebt ja in England und muss es nicht unbedingt wissen…*nicht* Aber er hat es doch gelesen!!!

“CUSTOMER: Hi, I just wanted to ask: did Anne Frank ever write a sequel?
BOOKSELLER: ……..
CUSTOMER: I really enjoyed her first book.
BOOKSELLER: Her diary?
CUSTOMER: Yes, the diary.
BOOKSELLER: Her diary wasn’t fictional.
CUSTOMER: Really?
BOOKSELLER: Yes… She really dies at the end – that’s why the diary finishes. She was taken to a concentration camp.
CUSTOMER: Oh… that’s terrible.
BOOKSELLER: Yes, it was awful –
CUSTOMER: I mean, it’s such a shame, you know? She was such a good writer.”
Jen Campbell, Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops

Verständnislosigkeit
(Es gäbe auch noch bessere, aber leider nicht bei GR.)

“Customer: I’m looking for a book for my son. He’s six.
Bookseller: How about this one – it’s about-
Customer: Yeah, whatever, I’ll take it.”
Jen Campbell, Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops

Bücher sind etwas, wofür man sich interessiert und die man auch lieben kann! Da kann man doch nicht so kalt sein… 😦

Ähm…ja.

“CUSTOMER: I read a book in the sixties. I don’t remember the author, or the title. But it was green, and it made me laugh. Do you know which one I mean?”
Jen Campbell, Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops

Komisch, aber auch irgendwie lustig. 😀 Wie kann er nur erwarten, dass der Verkäufer DAS weiß?! 😀

Lustig und gleichzeitig dumm

“CUSTOMER: Hi.
BOOKSELLER: Hi there, how can I help?
CUSTOMER: Could you please explain Kindle to me.
BOOKSELLER: Sure. It’s an e-reader, which means you download books and read them on a small hand-held computer.
CUSTOMER: Oh OK, I see. So . . . this Kindle. Are the books on that paperback or hardback?”
Jen Campbell, Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops

Soo dumm… *heul* …, dass es schon wieder langsam lustig wird! *lachen währrend heulen*

FACEPALM!

“Bookshop Customer: ‚Who wrote the bible?‘
Customer’s friend: ‚Jesus.”
Jen Campbell, Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops

Kein Kommentar.

Geschockt

“MAN: Do you have black and white film posters?
BOOKSELLER: Yes, we do. They’re over here.
MAN: Do you have any posters of Adolf Hitler?
BOOKSELLER: Pardon?
MAN: Adolf Hitler.
BOOKSELLER: Well, he wasn’t a film star, was he.
MAN: Yes, he was. He was American. Jewish, I think…”
Jen Campbell, Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops

“CUSTOMER: I’m looking for a biography to read that’s really interesting. Could you recommend one?
BOOKSELLER: Sure. What books have you read and liked?
CUSTOMER: Well, I really loved Mein Kampf.
BOOKSELLER: . . .
CUSTOMER: Loved is probably not the right word.
BOOKSELLER: No. Probably not.
CUSTOMER: Liked, is probably better. Yes. Liked. I liked it a lot.
BOOKSELLER: . . .”
Jen Campbell, Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops

Sie handeln sich nun beide um die gleiche (angesprochene) Person und was man von ihm hält soll mir ja egal sein, aber beim Ersten finde ich das Unwissen eigentlich erschreckend und beim zweiten ist mir die Euphorie etwas unheimlich.

Aww!!! :3

“CUSTOMER: OK, so you want this book?
THEIR DAUGHTER: Yes!
CUSTOMER: Peter Pan?
THEIR DAUGHTER: Yes, please. Because he can fly.
CUSTOMER: Yes, he can – he’s very good at flying.
THEIR DAUGHTER: Why can’t I fly, daddy?
CUSTOMER: Because of evolution, sweetheart.”
Jen Campbell, Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops

Ist das nicht süß??! *-*

Harry Potter Liebhaber, es tut mir leid. Selbst mir tut es weh.

“CUSTOMER: Which was the first Harry Potter book?
BOOKSELLER: The Philosopher’s Stone.
CUSTOMER: And the second?
BOOKSELLER: The Chamber of Secrets.
CUSTOMER: I’l take The Chamber of Secrets. I don’t want The Philosopher’s Stone.
BOOKSELLER: Have you already read that one?
CUSTOMER: No, but with series of books I always find they take a while to really get going. I don’t want to waste my time with the useless introductory stuff at the beginning.
BOOKSELLER: The story in Harry Potter actually starts right away. Personally, I do recommend that you start with the first book – and it’s very good.
CUSTOMER: Are you working on commission?
BOOKSELLER: No.
CUSTOMER: Right. How many books are there in total?
BOOKSELLER: Seven.
CUSTOMER: Exactly. I’m not going to waste my money on the first book when there are so many others to buy. I’l take the second one.
BOOKSELLER: . . . If you’re sure.
(One week later, the customer returns)
BOOKSELLER: Hi, did you want to buy a copy of The Prisoner of Azkaban?
CUSTOMER: What’s that?
BOOKSELLER: It’s the book after The Chamber of Secrets.
CUSTOMER: Oh, no, definitely not. I found that book far too confusing. I ask you, how on earth are children supposed to understand it if I can’t? I mean, who the heck is that Voldemort guy anyway? No. I’m not going to bother with the rest.
BOOKSELLER: . . .”
Jen Campbell, Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops

Ich bin fassungslos…obwohl ich die Bücher nicht gelesen, aber selbst mir tut es weh und ich würde ihm gern Schmerzen zufügen!

Lustig 😀

“CUSTOMER: Oh, look, these books are all signed. (Pause) I wonder who signed them ?”
Jen Campbell, Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops

Hahaha :‘-D Der ist gut!! :‘-D

 

 

Mir hat das Buch, wie schon oft erzählt, sehr gefallen und ich hoffe ich konnte euch hiermit einen kleinen Einblick verschaffen! 🙂

 

Wir sehen uns spätestens Samstag mit dem A Lovely Blog Award (aber vielleicht auch schon morgen) wieder! 🙂

Kommentar verfassen

