Heaven’s Child > Review + It’s the End of 2014 Read-A-Thon #3

Heaven’s Child by Caroline Flohr

20685975

When Caroline Flohr’s sixteen-year-old twin daughter, Sarah, is killed in an accident involving eight teens taking a mid-night joyride, what’s left behind? And how do you move forward?


An intimate self-examination told through the eyes and heart of Sarah’s mother Caroline, Heaven’s Child is a magical memoir that teaches us how to surrender to our losses and celebrate the gifts of death while rediscovering life. Tackling deep questions and universal misunderstandings, the story dra
ws readers to journey beside Caroline as she opens the domestic scenes of home, heart, family, and community. Heaven’s Child provides the solace needed to overcome our greatest losses. The story encourages you to find your life’s purpose and helps you realize that you never journey alone.
The book covers sudden loss; death of a child; relationships within a family; funerals and traditions; doubts, faith and hope; marriages, divorces, and parenting; forgiveness and healing; the power of memories and intuition; inner strength, and the resilience of the human spirit. Heaven’s Child shows us that the grieving process is personal, that it’s not just about death but also about any loss in our life; that grieving is not about endings…but about new beginnings.

I received a free paperback copy in return of an honest review.

I want to start with the book itself and save the story for later.
I have to say it was a good read. The writing was really good so it was a fluent read, but not really for me. I had problems with the genre, but this is leaning more towards the story.

The book is split into parts that deal with i.e. the first year, the second and so on till the 5th year after the accident. Also these parts are divided in little paragraphs. But this subdivisions are no big devisions.

Other than that you always get to see some photos of the family, which is really lovely. In the beginning you have a little family tree, which is quite useful.
Throughout the book there are quotes and I just wanted to share my two favourites.
The first is my all-time-favourite of all the quotes in this book.

Faith is taking the first step even when you don’t see the whole staircase.
– Martin Luther King Jr.

The next one is a beautiful one to think about.

When one door of happiness closes, another opens;
But we often look so long at the closed doorthat
We do not see the one that has opened for us.
– Helen Keller

But now onto the story. And I have a reason to first talk about it down here. It’s based on a true event, in which Caroline’s – the author’s – daughter was killed. And I don’t think it’s easy to talk about something like this right away.

Message to Caroline: I know that you’ve heard it a lot after the accident and it’s probably meaningsless to you by now, but I wanna say I’m sorry. I’m really sorry for your loss and I’m also really proud of how you dealt with it. Sure it wasn’t always easy, but you made it out alive. And that’s what counts.

As I mentioned above, I had my problems while reading her book. I’ve never read a non-fiction book before and I just don’t know. Probably it was because I expected the book to be a little different or because of the long paragraphs. I once handed the book to a good friend of mine and she said it’s great to read and after this review I’ll give it to her so she can finish it. She had no problems with it.
How did I expect the book to be different? I guess I didn’t think it would have flashbacks and trivia in it. I thought it would only deal with the present, but after reading it I don’t think this is possible, because you need the past to understand how the person’s acted.

I believed that death came after a life had been fully lived, when one was long past childhood. I was wrong. Death comes when it will.
– Caroline, page 142

Caroline I really appreciate your words. There are many wise ones scattered through the book and the one above, I like the most.

I liked the book, but it may be the last non-fiction book I’ll read for the next years. And it’s not because of this specific one, it’s because it’s just not my genre.

My rating is 3 stars. It’s not bad and it’s not a book I would read again(sorry, but I explained why just above), but I’ll recommend it to others and also will give it to the nearby library.

Thank you Caroline, that you gave me the opportunity to read your book! 🙂

 

It’s the End of 2014 Read-A-Thon Day and Game #3

Hosted by: http://onceuponatimelover8.wordpress.com/ (Blogpost)

Task: Spell it out…. spell any Wintery or Christmas words with the books you have read this year

I hope I still did it the right way! :-/

SSea of Monsters, Rick Riordan

A Allegiant, Veronica Roth

N – Mockingjay, Suzanne Collins

T Thirteen Reasons Why,

AAfter the End, Amy Plum

C – Matched, Ally Condie

LLooking For Alaska, John Green

A – I Am Number Four, Pittacus Lore

U Unterm Rad, Hermann Hesse

S Safe Haven, Nicholas Sparks

E – The 5th Wave, Rick Yancey

 

2 Gedanken zu “Heaven’s Child > Review + It’s the End of 2014 Read-A-Thon #3

    • Haha ja das stimmt wohl:D Ich hatte den Beitrag vorbereitet, aber wusste nicht, ob man den ersten Buchstaben nehmen soll oder irgendwelche zwischendrin… hmm naja aber hat trotzdem Spaß gemacht(:

Kommentar verfassen

