Half-Blood by JLA > Review

9680718

The Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi pure bloods have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals–well, not so much. Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures.
Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1:Relationships between pures and halfs are forbidden. Unfortunately, she’s crushing hard on the totally hot pure-blood Aiden.
But falling for Aiden isn’t her biggest problem–staying alive long enough to graduate the Covenant and become a Sentinel is. If she fails in her duty, she faces a future worse than death or slavery: being turned into a daimon, and being hunted by Aiden.
And that would kind of suck.

(My) Goodreads rating: 4 stars
(My) Actual rating: 4 stars

So as I said a few times already on Goodreads, this book is predictable. Really predictable. But to be honest, I don’t care. It’s not that I guessed the ending at the beginning! 😀

But for those who have read Vampire Academy – I’m sorry, guys. I’ve been told a few times now that it’s kind of exactly the same.
But since I only read Half-Blood and love all of JLA’s books, I recommend you to read Half-Blood! 😀 No i’m just kidding, you can read whatever you want. 🙂
But for all those who say one of the authors copied the other: Half-Blood has been published 2011 and Vampire Academy 2007.

 

Since we got this done, I want to talk about the book. And JLA’s writing.

OH MY HOLY HEMATOI!! Hands down – Jennifer just writes the best kissing scenes. I was like jumping up and down in my bed, squealing, biting my fingers, drawing the scene in my head and wishing this would happen to me too at the same time. It was killing me inside.

Here’s a teaser from my Teaser Tuesday:

“Hardy har har.”
He grinned again. “”All right.”

– Alex to Aiden, page 50

Don’t let yourself get distracted from the rating(for the picky readers along you)! I probably would have given this book 5 stars, but (1) it’s predictable as told at the top and (2) I’ve been told the series gets better! So I need some space for higher ratings. 😀

Alex(andria) was kind of a typical heroine/main character. She was strong but also not. When something like that would happen to me I probably would break down. 100%. And she tried to keep it together and cool. Sure there would be a time when she’d (finally) break down. She just can’t keep it in her for the whole time. That wouldn’t be healthy.

Aiden is great. Sure he wasn’t all honest with her, but still! He is caring and handsome. Wow!

AIDEN „When [no spoilers here!] , I never thought I’d find peace again. I know you have, and for that, I’m happy. You deserve it, Alex.“
ALEX „Did…you ever find peace?“
AIDEN „Yes. I have now.“

– page 280

Seth…hmm what am I going to do with you? You first seemed way too much into the thing with Lucian, but in the end you cleared something – the way you feel about it – up. I’m really excited what will happen in the sequels though! 🙂

Caleb as Alex‘ best friend is also mentioned quite a few times. And he’s a cool character! But please Caleb, don’t be so shy. Just talk to the girl you want! That’s probably the only annoying thing about him…

The other characters wary from bitch to cool to chilled to jackass.
I like/love the whole idea of the story and – as always – the names she gave the creatures. Hematoi, daimons, pure-bloods and half-bloods. They life on an island called Deity-Island, their „community“ is called the Covenant and it’s aether flowing through their blood, making them what they are.
Yeah you could say these are pretty awesome and interesting names! 🙂

What I know from Jennifer’s posts and other things readers said, it has insta-love in it. And now you can guess. Who’s included?

Anyways, this little question should be easy to answer. 😀 Do you want more information? Or want to buy it? Here it is! 😀

 

See you around! (Saturday to be honest) 🙂

7 Gedanken zu “Half-Blood by JLA > Review

  1. Loved this review 🙂 Hope you enjoy the next one as well. Read faster so you’re able to read The Return right when it comes out without spoiling yourself ;D

Kommentar verfassen

