City of Bones > BOOK and MOVIE review

If you’ve been reading my reviews for a longer time now, you might be confused. Why? I already uploaded a review of City of Bones. Why so? Well this review was written by my friend, because I never thought I’d ever read these books. Well, whoops! I did! :-

But I don’t want this to be too long right now, so check out the „old“ review >>here<< and read on for my own opinion on the book and movie!

Maybe you know that I take part in the Mortal Readalong, and that’s the reason that got me to read the books! I still have to read/listen to City of Ashes, which is the second book in the Mortal Instruments series and planned to be read in April.

 

City of Bones (Mortal Instruments #1) by Cassandra Clare

16074780

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…

Exotic and gritty, exhilarating and utterly gripping, Cassandra Clare’s ferociously entertaining fantasy takes readers on a wild ride that they will never want to end.

(I got this awesome movie tie-in edition, if you’re curious.)

All in all I liked the book. I watched the movie some long, long time ago and couldn’t remember anything except 3-4 scenes, so I didn’t know what would come at me! 🙂

It’s definitely not a favourite book of mine, but is was still a good read and I’m looking forward to the next books, although I wouldn’t mind if I didn’t read on.

After I gave it some thought (about a week…) I rated it 4 stars on Goodreads but my acual rating is 3.5. 😉

My favourite character was definitely Jace. I love his sarcastic/joking side! Sometimes he just says something really casual, but it’s actually quite funny! But as you might guess, the ending wasn’t that great for his character… :-/

 

Now onto my movie review… I think they did a great job with the movie! Sure, they changed some things and it wasn’t that nice after I read the book, but it was still a great movie.
(Oh and I saw something new in the movie everytime I watched it! But I wouldn’t have get some things if I wouldn’t have read the book.)

My favourite character – again – is Jace and they did SUCH a GREAT JOB! Jamie Campbell Bower is perfect for this role and waaah..! His accent! ❤

As I was hoping for a second movie, I discovered a few months back (through Sasha Alsberg) that they’re making a series out of it!

They’re going to cast completely different people and I have the feeling it’ll suck. I love Lily Collins as Clary! :-)) But I’ll still watch it. 😉

 

I hope I did justice to my previous saying that it won’t be long! I just wanted to inform you and give some feedback. 🙂

Love, Freya(:

 

PS: Sorry if there are any grammar mistakes, but it’s pretty late and I’m sleeeepy… zzZ

Kommentar verfassen

