REVIEW: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

15745753

Two misfits.
One extraordinary love.

Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.

Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises…Park.

Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try.


My review: This ending… Oh good lord 5 stars, it made me cry.
How can someone write such a beautiful, but still so painful ending? How?

But let’s start from the beginning.
At first this book was weird. Just plain weird. The people dressed kinda dirty (at least I got the feeling) and the also didn’t look that good. There didn’t really happen anything and I didn’t get how Rainbow Rowell would change it so they could take their place in the romantic storyline that was about to happen (or at least it was promised).
But I have to admit it got me at the comic reading and exchange! 🙂

From there on it got more interesting and I also began to read and read and read and I wasn’t able to stop.

I really pity Eleanor and her life. She doesn’t deserve it and it’s just sad, but that’s also what made her strong (just like it’s supposed to be in books when the people had a rough past).
But Park’s family was great. I loved how his mother and father loved each other even if Park and his dad didn’t get along that well. It was really cute how they had their arguments, but nobody ever yelled. And it’s funny how his mom always made herself clear when somebody said a rude word. 😀

The book isn’t at all about school. The schoolbus is an important place, yes, but if you took all the things that really were about school or happened there you would probably have one page.

I expected something sweeter from this book. I didn’t think it would be so rough. But I can only recommend it to everyone out there!! I don’t know why, but I liked it.

The characters get 3.5 stars from me. The stories behind them along the story itself get 4 stars and the ending 5 stars (it was really dragging the tears out of my eyes, but it was still so beautiful..!).

Quote:
„It was ‚Oh my god, he’s so cute‘ at first sight.“ -p41

My rating: 4/5 stars on Goodreads

Lovely greetings from Germany! 🙂

Kommentar verfassen

